Springtime at the Den

It seems there is just so much going on lately–I’m actually surprised my head is still above water (not to mention all the rain and flood watch advisories, hah!).

The Pup spent all winter looking wistfully out the window at her climber/playhouse thing covered by a tarp to protect it from the elements and asking when she could play on the slide again. “When it’s warm,” we kept assuring her.  Then we had some 70-degree days in January/February, which was just insane, and we had no intention of going out to unearth the thing when there was still bound to be tons of snow on the way.

At one point, her uncle and cousin brought us some firewood and split most of it to season, so there were scraps of splintered wood and chunks of bark all over the backyard that Alpha and I really wanted to get cleaned up before letting her loose out there.  So one day last week, when it seemed Winter had simply given up the ghost, he picked up the majority of those scraps, and the next day, I took the Pup out to play while I got busy cleaning up winter overgrowth and raking leaves that had blown into our chain link.  Saturday, I churned up the compost I’d let sit since October and used it to sow some spinach seeds and transplant my basil and asparagus that I had started a few weeks ago inside.  Somewhere in all this process, I made my way behind the massive shed Alpha put in a couple of years ago to store his mower and other yard equipment/tools/etc.  This is a yucky, unwelcoming corner of our yard, full of self-composting leaves that never get raked up or mowed, decomposting branches that I inevitably roll my ankle trying to walk over, and tons and tons of skinny little tree-things, some established, some brand new, others at various stages in between.  Last year, when I first took it upon myself to do some yard work because the Pup was old enough to really run around and play in the yard, I avoided this area because it looked like too much work.  I focused on the fence lines that were overgrown with juvenile mulberry trees, “planted” by birds who ate the fruit and then chilled on the chain link.  These trees, though small, are a type of wood that for whatever reason is very difficult to cut through with any of the multiple pairs of trimmers/clippers we have.  I even tried a saw last year.  They suck.  And when you cut them back, they of course just grow new shoots and come back, so the interior fence line had to be completely cleaned out again this year.  (Streetside, thankfully, was not too bad–Alpha bought some kind of gas-powered torch thing last year and repeatedly burnt along that whole fence line, scorching the buggers till they just crumbled.  The other fence is adjacent to the neighbor’s wooden fence, so…burning is sortof out of the question, heh.)  So I went to town cleaning mulberry out of the fence and I noticed this freaking forest in the corner behind the shed.  “What the heck, I’ll rip these out too!” I thought.

Something niggled in the back of my head the whole time that maybe I should check with Alpha as to what it even was, but given how neglected that area seemed, I figured it couldn’t be anything important, and all the decomposing branches seemed like maybe remnants from when they’d been hacked down before.  So I kept at it, pulling up the tiny ones by the roots, tugging at others to try and uproot them before hacking them off at the ground with my clippers.  When Alpha joined us, he noticed what I was doing and asked why I was cutting down the hibiscus if I liked them so much last year.

DOH!  All summer he had clipped flowers and brought them in for me, but I’d never seen where he was getting them from.  I figured there was just a single plant somewhere and I would know it if I came upon it.  Turns out, all the old wood back there was just discard from an old firewood pile.

On the up-side…I took some of the larger hibiscus that came out with roots and transplanted them to the window outside my office.  Once they have grown a bit, I’ll be able to see them from inside.  And what’s left in the back will continue to spread as well, so I may transplant more of it to spots it can be more fully appreciated.

I have such a black thumb.  Best of luck to these relocated hibiscus, as well as my veggie and herb garden. LOL

~ by MamaWolf on March 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
